The three-nave parish hall church originated during the 14th century. The Chapel of St. George was annexed to its northern part landed in 1392. Atria were annexed in the late 15th century to the north portal and to the south portal in the late 14th century. In the same period the original pillars of the group support were reinforced with Corinthian capitals. In the course of the next century the richly decorated late-Gothic south and the north entrances were annexed, while the original western entrance was impaired. A library was built in the years 1515 – 1520 over the northern atrium and the side chapel of St. George. Its rectangular windows belonged to one of the first Renaissance buildings in the town. From the rich interior furnishings, along with two unique late-Gothic altars by a carver operating in Levoča in the early 16th century, Master Paul deserves credit for the Vir Dolorum altar, the baptismal font and the tabernacle from the old-furnished temple. The murals with cycles from the 14th to 15th century are a rare example of a period display of doctrine. After a fire in the first half of the 19th century a Neo-Gothic tower was built in the western part of the church. In the church the architecture and interior furnishings comprise a unique collection of art-historical and architectural monuments mainly from the 15th to 17th centuries.
Heritage > National cultural monuments