Raden’s House, Čičmany

The village of Čičmany, located near the source of the River Rajčianka in the Strážov Hills, attracted great public interest as early as in 1895 at the Czechoslovak Ethnological Exhibition in Prague. Since then a special type of tourism and folk study has developed in the village and it continues to this day. A number of buildings whose folk architectures are noteworthy for their condition and stylistic unity were declared a historical reservation in 1979. Although it was built in 1924 as a replica of a building destroyed by fire, this one-storey three-room log-type folk house considered to be unique. The structure of the ground plan is based on a ground-floor three-room house arranged room- antechamber-chamber. Regarding space, it is linked to the houses from the 18th century with underroof chambers that are typical for Čičmany, where the lifestyle of a large family was kept until the 20th century. The chambers, originally hidden in the under roof area are recognized to be to a full floor, as they are also emphasized along the gable and backyard wall of the house by a continuous back porch made of wood. The entire area of the outside part of the log-house is decorated with lime decorations. In this one and a neighbouring ground-floor three-room log-type house with upper underroof chambers, there is a detached exhibition of the Museum of Považie in Žilina. Visitors are introduced to the housing, employment, folk costumes and folk art from the past. A variety of exhibits documents the everyday and holiday life of the village’s inhabitants and their family customs. Visitors will be enchanted by a number of fine embroidery, whose techniques, ornamental motifs and tasteful colour schemes can be traced back to the Renaissance period. The other building, house number 42, houses an exhibition on life in Čičmany at the beginning of the 20th century.

Heritage > National cultural monuments