Count George Apponyi from Oponice had the municipal palace, built in a block in close vicinity to the City Hall, rebuilt in 1761-1762 from the Baroque house of the early 18th century in the Rococo spirit. The rich history of the settlement of this area, where in the Middle Ages even older buildings stood, is evidenced by archaeological finds dating back to the first century BC. The long front facade of the three-storey building creates the eastern side of the street up to the corner. The house has an irregular L-shaped floor plan with a vaulted overpass into the inner court. Its most representative part is the first-floor piano nobile. In 1867 the palace was bought by the city and it hosts a museum today. The exhibition on the first floor with preserved original wood wall lining and paintings is arranged as a representative piano nobile evoking noble a interior at the end of the 18th century. On the second floor in rooms with reconstructed wall paintings we can find urban interior furniture from the late 18th to the end of the 19th century.
Heritage > National cultural monuments